Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates

Refuse. Resist. Rebuild.

It was a dark and stormy night …

DarkandStormy

Where to begin? Perhaps the beginning would be the most logical place.

I remember it as a wintery dark and stormy night … The yet-to-be-EYLF-Pirates and I were drawn together by outside forces. Discussions led to understandings and of course Anarchy ensued.  The Pirates were born.

So without getting lost in the romantic tale that is the birthplace of Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates, I should speak to what they mean to me.

They are my sounding board, my safe harbour.

They are the respite that my mind and my heart and soul need from time to time.

They are my advocates; the proverbial devil that challenge my truths.

They are my secret, the part of my-other-than-self that no one knows about but us.

I am proud of them. I am proud of us.

Their intelligence rubs off on me. I feel smarter for knowing them and being part of them, of us.

We created a space for ourselves where we could think unfettered. Our thoughts became things. A collection of things: which we decided to publish and share. We threw stones into the pedagogical pond, and the ripples went out in all sorts of directions.  Without realising what we were doing, we had created a space for others to also think left of centre, challenge and engage. Some of you have even been brave enough to write and become pirates in your own way. Some of you have shared with us publically, others have written to us privately. Anarchy has given my professional-life a secret layer of meaning – a means of connecting with others outside of myself.

Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates is my being and growing space. It gives me a platform to voice thoughts, ideas and sometimes frustrations that I otherwise cannot say out-loud.

I am grateful to my fellow EYLF Pirates and our voyage of Anarchy. And I am grateful to you, our audience.

So I raise my glass and cock my conspiratorial left eye-brow to Grainne and Awilda: Thank you for the Anarchy and the non-gender-specific-siblinghood.

© Jeanne de Clisson 2014

Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates

One comment on “It was a dark and stormy night …

  1. Tash Treveton
    November 18, 2014

    We all need those like-minded conspirators….

Leave a Reply

