Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates

Refuse. Resist. Rebuild.

A Pirate’s Quest for Quality aka The Perfect Template

piratelearningstory3

I see more and more consultants setting up shop.

More and more templates on offer.

They promise to answer an educator’s documenting dreams.

“This will be easy. It will save you time.”

“This template will take all the guess work out of documenting children’s learning!”

“This learning story will get you an exceeding rating.”

“We’ve done all the work for you!”

“All you have to do is fill in the boxes!”

They are merely perpetuating confusion and fear.

The EYLF Pirates have said this before; it is not how you frame your words, but your words themselves that are of the utmost importance.

– JdeC

© 2014 Jeanne de Clisson of the infamous Anarchy and the EYLF Pirates.

Aaargh Rights Reserved.

6 comments on “A Pirate’s Quest for Quality aka The Perfect Template

  1. April Eaton
    July 31, 2014

    I couldn’t agree more 🙂

  2. Janey
    August 1, 2014

    This is one of the reasons (okay a major big huge reason) why I’m taking an extended break from being on the floor. I love kids, I love watching them learn, I love playing I love nurturing but I hate hate hate writing about every bloody minute of the day then extending on it for the next day then analysing it, linking it to a theorist then analysing again. Writing for the sake of filling up a portfolio is crap.

    • Anarchy & the EYLF Pirates
      August 10, 2014

      I can hear your frustration Janey. I too would be frustrated if that were required of me. I too would be tempted to, if not actually follow though with leaving.

      I am struggling with what is being passed on to educators as the so-called requirements and truths.

      I’m exhausted even thinking about it.

      Writing for the sake of a portfolio (something NOT even required) is indeed crap. It’s totally shit.

      – JdeC

      • Julie Cherry
        December 1, 2014

        If you all feel like you are writing something just for the sake of a portfolio, then why are you doing it at all? Where does it say that we even have to produce a portfolio for each child. The EYLF and the regs state that children’s learning is visible, there are many more authentic ways to document children’s learning than through portfolios. I myself feel like the portfoliios are a waste of time, the parents never look at them, and a lot of educators use them as a Christmas presents to hand out at the end of the year to the families.

  3. Tash Treveton
    November 18, 2014

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

